potentially wrong

Certain people have the mechanisms – innate, learned, or divined – to cope. Others don’t, but acknowledging that fact is the first step to doing something about it.It’s a liberating and empowering experience. I can’t do anything about the world, but I do have the power to do something about me. So, at least with respect to me, I am most definitely not powerless. The idea that I can actually do something about the crux of the problem is a revelation. I just have to make the decision to do so. But this compels me to question everything I know, everything I understand about myself, and subject it to reassessment and reappraisal.

This seems justified and necessary, because if I have been so alarmingly wrong about such a basic thing as knowing how to live life, then what else am I potentially wrong about? If I fail to take those other things into consideration, will I not undermine and compromise the endeavour I am about to embark upon and fail because of it? What would be the point, especially if I’m not fully sure I understand what the point is yet, and am not prepared to allow myself to see it?

Comment

