not falling down

Hoping gives us something to think about, to occupy our minds, until we know, and we hope for a whole series of things to not happen, as well as do happen. This doubles the number of things that we can hope for. If I’m scheduled for an important meeting I’ll hope that the meeting goes well and that I won’t get screwed over. I’ll have to actually go to the meeting to find out if it goes badly, and it may go badly, despite what I hope for. Hope focuses our mind on the reason why we’re going to the meeting in the first place and what outcome we might be striving for. We might therefore be prepared for any snap decision or response that may be required. It’s a simple way of concentrating our minds on the relevant subject, and despite being fraught with the dangers of possible disappointment, it also works to prepare and protect us.

This is not a bad thing, per se, provided we understand and accept why we’re thinking about it in the first place. If I’m on top of a very high ladder thinking, “I hope I don’t fall down,” the hope draws my attention to the fact that I am up there on a high ladder, and should be careful. I probably have to be up there on the ladder hoping that I don’t fall off to make a true assessment of the risk. If I’m on the ground at the foot of the ladder I’m eventually going to have to decide whether or not I’m going to take the risk, or go up and have a better look at it. Visualising the not-hoped-for event enables me to assess the situation and consider the dangers, but if I’m going to change the broken light bulb I’m still going to have to get on the ladder. It shouldn’t prevent us from going through the required motions of the “seeking.” I can’t refuse to budge until a benevolent god divines my philosophical quandary and tells me that no i won’t or yes I will fall off. I still have to get on the ladder.

If I stay in bed hoping that it’s going to be a nice day and am determined not to move until I divine the truth of it, I’ll be there in bed all day. And anyway; it might be nice now but that doesn’t mean it will be later. Things change.

Comment

